#Poem sandwiches and biscuits

I wheel in sandwiches and biscuits
the tea is brewed
old wooden trolley
you’re blank, wall-staring
brown photographs drop to the floor
I know if the right fingers snapped you’d jump to life

I take it all
it’s what I like about me
even if the blunders cut deep
keep me down
pressed between rocks
– I think I can pass through them –

don’t play in caves
don’t climb loose shale slopes
don’t fly
don’t believe this is real
don’t stay

They all left before sun-up
half-known figures, demons, angels
– you don’t get to practice, or reflect –

You eat a little, drink some tea
I take the trolley away

One thought on “#Poem sandwiches and biscuits

  1. Pingback: #Poem sandwiches and biscuits | Ash2

Leave a Reply

