#Poem a lamp outside my front door

Heavy rains and wind
have uprooted a red beech on the island
and it has crashed into the lake

20′ away, a heron stands on a coot’s nest and waits
like they always do

Look around
the last call of the year has gone out

The settled walk by satisfied
others wish for one more chance
before the days are too short

Earlier, I put a lamp outside my front door
I’ll leave it on

One thought on “#Poem a lamp outside my front door

  1. Pingback: #Poem a lamp outside my front door | Ash2

Leave a Reply

