#Poem It All Stopped when I Looked Out the Window


I was at home, upstairs, and glanced towards the NatWest Bank,
50 yards away on the corner of Elm Grove Road, the road that
disappears down the hill

The pavement, blush-red,
turned light into patterns
a dream realm
bewitching

compelling along Station Road, Cardiff Road,
St Cadoc’s Avenue, past St Winifred’s Close
and St Baruch Close, left into St Ambrose Close

Now, I see through this imprint
like alpha-male
tap you on your forehead
wake you up
you, white, fleshy,
pinky-purple
so positive

I must have seen you about –
back and forth my window
up and down the shops,
must have felt the sun-warmth
get through the screens –
like a Trojan
a rootkit-infection

I am pre-assigned
puppet-like

One thought on “#Poem It All Stopped when I Looked Out the Window

  1. Pingback: #Poem It All Stopped when I Looked Out the Window | Ash2

Leave a Reply

