#Poem I can’t focus on these strings of coloured lights

I can’t focus on these strings of coloured lights
patterns do not repeat
shops are shut
couples and clumps wander and chatter
Exorcist shows at Gaiety Cinema
live music night at Red Lion
a song I heard in my mother’s kitchen

Your necklace caught the colours
black, shiny plastic leaves
just beginning to show scratches

The radio lets out tunes
lots of wood, pine, Formica
hazy windows, boiling vegetables
lino, cold on bare feet
a grubby poverty
no appeal
no interest
we’d hang out washing
it would rain

I need to rest my eyes
people in the gallery are more interesting than paintings
blur knocks off sharp edges
the café is now playing Bringing It All Back Home

One thought on “#Poem I can’t focus on these strings of coloured lights

  1. Pingback: #Poem I can’t focus on these strings of coloured lights | Ash2

Leave a Reply

