#Poem Hopeless and Topless

Meet you down the Torchwood Tower, she said,
when I phoned her over a coffee
from inside the Senedd.
What colour is the wind today, she added,
like a comedian,
knowing full well that my synaesthesia
was giving me gyp –
so much so that I had to walk to Tesco Express
and buy a Daily Mail.

Shorty faux leopard-print coat,
black liquid-look leggings,
a black Alice band,
flats, black.
In a carrier bag: purple, clip-on, toy angel-wings
(just purchased) – I note she didn’t bother
to wear them to meet me.

She’s been growing her hair long
for ten years.
I absolutely adore it – in an it’s OK way –
but I can’t fool her.
She shakes it and twirls it,
lets the wind blow it on me,
lets the sun highlight it –
each shadow carefully, precisely, planned.

She wants a coffee
and I guess I’ll buy her one.
Back in the Senedd it’s hot –
but she won’t be taking her coat off.

The Senedd is the building of the National Assembly for Wales – on the waterfront in Cardiff Bay

3 thoughts on “#Poem Hopeless and Topless

  1. Pingback: #Poem Hopeless and Topless | Ash2

Leave a Reply

