#Poem Shelling

Beirut

I’d escaped the shelling of the city
to relax in the beauty of the mountains
but it did not make me strong

When the first bombardment started
close to the moment of my return
I was unprepared

I am sure the enemy is weakened
his show of strength is pathetic
but it remains, nevertheless, unwelcome

Unwelcome also, are the adjustments I have to make
The allies have dispersed
without them, the discomfort is more acute

I play for time
I believe the months and years will bring their own solution
This may be a mistake

One thought on “#Poem Shelling

  1. Pingback: #Poem Shelling | Ash2

Leave a Reply

