#Poem Volunteer

Identity

What with having had a few days there
and then a daytrip
and a week in a different place coming up
it’s like I’m not really here

If I had volunteered
to be something hunted
then I wouldn’t have been still
long enough for them to spot me
get my range
take a shot

When you’re going somewhere
you’re a moving target
harder to hit
but, sorry, Jack, I’m not just passing through
this is my planet
as much as it is anyone else’s
and I can slow down
dig in
lie in wait
unmoved for days, if necessary
and at the right moment
squeeze the trigger

On cold nights
I welcome your warmth
the space between atoms

One thought on “#Poem Volunteer

  1. Pingback: #Poem Volunteer | Ash2

Leave a Reply

