#Poem Language of Crow

Language of Crow

As a boy, I was able to pass through matter

One day, at West Beach, Littlehampton
I pushed my hands into the rockface
and found, embedded, a baby crow
We became good friends

Sometimes we’d walk together
she’d rest in an inner pocket of my jacket
or sit in a special mesh pouch I’d made for my knapsack

She’d stand on the table and share my muesli
perch on the arm of the sofa when I watched telly
roost in the drawer where I put my tee-shirts

but, most of all, she’d fly

~

To the hour, 21 years later
she flew through a portal, into the heavens

I moved into rooms near Heath Park, Cardiff
and after a week
150 crows arrived, to live in the trees opposite

One thought on “#Poem Language of Crow

  1. Pingback: #Poem Language of Crow | Ash2

Leave a Reply

