#Poem Reckless

I don’t recall ever having the vanity
to think of myself as Gulliver in Lilliput,
but that’s the image that keeps cropping up.
Lilliputians with grappling hooks on ropes
pull and tear flesh.
It’s not so much the discomfort when standing still,
it’s the disincentive to move at all,
knowing that any pleasure will be outweighed by pain,
however the stale unhealthiness of not being in motion
to where I want
when I want
gets into my bones
and I struggle to resist kicking out
as an act of reckless defiance.

Leave a Reply

