Happy Valentine’s Day


 

 

Happy Valentine’s Day
a couple poems…

 

 

*****
 

 

It was a main road
but nobody had a car

quiet, with a post office
and a lane you’d walk up to Colindale

On the corner
a mass of trees

Don’t go over the woods, they’d say
there’s an old swimming pool

a boy fell in
cracked his head and died

How about not falling in
I’d say

I’m missing you
I wish I had

 

 

*****

 

 

I am a black and white café
Wooden chairs
Closed down years ago
You want to come round sometime
I’ll crank up the coffee machine
or brew tea
We can talk or read or write
or play and sing…
I’ll probably feel that I want you to stay
but you know I don’t want you to stay
that’s about as complicated as it will get

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

